Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited (HIDCL) Share Price & Fundamentals
Hydroelectricity Investment and Development (HIDCL) share price is Rs. 256.30, down 2.18% on 2026-09-23. Open Rs. 265.00. High Rs. 265.00. Low Rs. 256.10. Volume 121,254.
Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited is a NEPSE-listed company (HIDCL), Investment sector. Revenue: Rs. 2.41 Crore. Net profit: Rs. 91.13 Crore. Net worth: Rs. 2,853.17 Crore.
About Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited
Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited is a Government of Nepal owned investment company established on 11 July 2011 to mobilise domestic and international funds for medium to mega hydropower and renewable energy generation, transmission and distribution projects. Its promoter shareholders include the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation, the Financial Comptroller General Office, the Employees Provident Fund, Rastriya Beema Sansthan and the Citizen Investment Trust. HIDCL invests through both equity and loan, and holds a stake in Remit Hydro Ltd. and Simbhuwa Remit Hydro Ltd., which it consolidates.
Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited (HIDCL) has 24,92,82,110 shares outstanding. It listed on NEPSE in 2011. Its most recent declared dividend was 2.00% on face value.
Company website: hidcl.org.np.
HIDCL key metrics
HIDCL strengths
What Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited's own accounts show in its favour, graded against the rest of its sector.
- Can settle its short term bills 83.54x over, so it is unlikely to run short of cash. (Liquidity)
- Profits cover the interest bill 170.47x over, so loan payments are comfortably affordable. (Leverage & Solvency)
- 98.2% of everything it owns was paid for by shareholders rather than borrowed. (Leverage & Solvency)
- Buildings and machinery are a modest 0% of assets, so it is not tied to heavy fixed costs. (Efficiency)
HIDCL weaknesses
What the same accounts show against it. Both lists are computed from the filed figures, not opinion, and are not advice.
- Profit moved -27.3% on last year, so earnings are not building up. (Growth)
- Return on shareholders' money is 3.3%, less than most savers would expect. (Profitability)
- Return on the money tied up in the business is 4.7%, so capital is not working hard. (Profitability)
- Past profits are 2.3% of shareholder funds, so little has been kept in the business. (Shareholder Returns)
- Return on everything it owns is 3.3%, so its assets are sitting relatively idle. (Profitability)
- Shareholders' stake moved 6.8% over the year, so value is not accumulating. (Shareholder Returns)
- Cash is only 6.9% of what it owns, so there is little spare for a surprise. (Liquidity)
- What the company owns moved 7.3%, so it is not putting money into growth. (Growth)
HIDCL Q4 2082/83 results
In Q4 2082/83 Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported profit of Rs. 13.24 crore and revenue from operations of Rs. 0.77 crore. Profit in Q3 2082/83 was Rs. 14.47 crore. Profit fell 8.56% on the previous quarter. Revenue from operations grew 179.02% on the previous quarter. Profit in Q4 2081/82, the same quarter a year earlier, was Rs. 24.49 crore. Profit fell 45.96% on the same quarter last year. Revenue from operations fell 13.70% on the same quarter last year.
HIDCL annual results 2081/82
For the financial year 2081/82 Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported net profit of Rs. 91.13 crore, revenue from operations of Rs. 2.41 crore and net worth of Rs. 2,853.17 crore. Net profit in 2080/81 was Rs. 143.52 crore. Net profit fell 36.50% on the year. Revenue from operations fell 51.76% on the year.
HIDCL profit and loss for 2081/82
In the financial year 2081/82, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 2.41 crore, gross profit of Rs. 2.41 crore, operating profit of Rs. 130.88 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 129.83 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 91.13 crore.
Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 144.28 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 2.71 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 5.12 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 2.56 crore and allowance for expected credit loss of Rs. 5.42 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 1.05 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 39.52 crore and deferred tax of Rs. 0.82 crore.
HIDCL profit and loss for 2080/81
In the financial year 2080/81, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 4.99 crore, gross profit of Rs. 4.99 crore, operating profit of Rs. 205.96 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 204.82 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 143.52 crore.
Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 212.44 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 2.17 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 6.78 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 2.44 crore and allowance for expected credit loss of Rs. 0.07 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 1.15 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 62.15 crore and deferred tax of Rs. 0.85 crore.
HIDCL profit and loss for 2079/80
In the financial year 2079/80, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 1.01 crore, gross profit of Rs. 1.01 crore, operating profit of Rs. 198.95 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 197.76 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 134.23 crore.
Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 216.61 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 2.16 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 7.26 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 2.3 crore, allowance for expected credit loss of Rs. 2.83 crore and other operating expenses of Rs. 4.11 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 1.19 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 63.18 crore, deferred tax of Rs. 0.22 crore and prior period tax adjustment of Rs. 0.57 crore.
HIDCL balance sheet for 2081/82
In the financial year 2081/82, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported total non-current assets of Rs. 1,162.47 crore, total current assets of Rs. 1,748.31 crore, total equity of Rs. 2,853.17 crore, total non-current liabilities of Rs. 31.79 crore and total current liabilities of Rs. 25.83 crore.
Reported under total non-current assets: property, plant and equipment of Rs. 137.97 crore, intangible assets of Rs. 0.47 crore, right-of-use assets of Rs. 8.3 crore, investment in quoted shares of Rs. 322.43 crore, investment in subsidiaries of Rs. 0 crore and other financial assets of Rs. 693.31 crore. Reported under total current assets: inventories of Rs. 0.09 crore, cash and cash equivalents of Rs. 210.46 crore, income tax assets (net) of Rs. 4.85 crore, investments in fixed deposit of Rs. 1,486.53 crore and other current assets of Rs. 46.39 crore. Reported under total equity: share capital of Rs. 2,514.48 crore, reserve and surplus of Rs. 281.44 crore, retained earnings of Rs. 54.25 crore and other equity of Rs. 3 crore. Reported under total non-current liabilities: lease liabilities of Rs. 9.25 crore, deferred tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 21.81 crore and retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0.73 crore. Reported under total current liabilities: other current liabilities of Rs. 25.83 crore.
HIDCL balance sheet for 2080/81
In the financial year 2080/81, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported total non-current assets of Rs. 1,116.04 crore, total current assets of Rs. 1,566.99 crore, total equity of Rs. 2,640.31 crore, total non-current liabilities of Rs. 18.35 crore and total current liabilities of Rs. 24.37 crore.
Reported under total non-current assets: property, plant and equipment of Rs. 107.04 crore, intangible assets of Rs. 0.56 crore, right-of-use assets of Rs. 9.74 crore, investment in quoted shares of Rs. 313.84 crore, investment in subsidiaries of Rs. 0 crore and other financial assets of Rs. 684.86 crore. Reported under total current assets: inventories of Rs. 0.06 crore, cash and cash equivalents of Rs. 126.64 crore, income tax assets (net) of Rs. 1.32 crore, investments in fixed deposit of Rs. 1,379.64 crore and other current assets of Rs. 59.32 crore. Reported under total equity: share capital of Rs. 2,313.04 crore, reserve and surplus of Rs. 203.35 crore, retained earnings of Rs. 123.92 crore and other equity of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total non-current liabilities: lease liabilities of Rs. 10.4 crore, deferred tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 7.22 crore and retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0.73 crore. Reported under total current liabilities: other current liabilities of Rs. 24.37 crore.
HIDCL balance sheet for 2079/80
In the financial year 2079/80, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported total non-current assets of Rs. 1,235.03 crore, total current assets of Rs. 1,306.49 crore, total equity of Rs. 2,508.26 crore, total non-current liabilities of Rs. 11.56 crore and total current liabilities of Rs. 21.7 crore.
Reported under total non-current assets: property, plant and equipment of Rs. 97.15 crore, intangible assets of Rs. 0.7 crore, right-of-use assets of Rs. 10.63 crore, deferred tax assets of Rs. 0.5 crore, investment in quoted shares of Rs. 222.28 crore, investment in subsidiaries of Rs. 0 crore, other financial assets of Rs. 903.77 crore and other non-current assets of Rs. 0.01 crore. Reported under total current assets: inventories of Rs. 0.04 crore, cash and cash equivalents of Rs. 43.07 crore, income tax assets (net) of Rs. 0 crore, investments in fixed deposit of Rs. 1,236.9 crore and other current assets of Rs. 26.47 crore. Reported under total equity: share capital of Rs. 2,277.58 crore, reserve and surplus of Rs. 89.19 crore, retained earnings of Rs. 137.34 crore and other equity of Rs. 4.15 crore. Reported under total non-current liabilities: lease liabilities of Rs. 10.85 crore and retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0.71 crore. Reported under total current liabilities: other current liabilities of Rs. 20.02 crore and income tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 1.67 crore.
HIDCL cash flow for 2081/82
In the financial year 2081/82, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported opening cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 126.64 crore, net cash from operating activities of Rs. 21.53 crore, net cash from investing activities of Rs. 46.96 crore, net cash from financing activities of Rs. 152.32 crore, net change in cash of Rs. 83.82 crore and closing cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 210.46 crore.
Reported under net cash from operating activities: profit before tax of Rs. 129.83 crore, adjustment for depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 2.56 crore, adjustment for finance costs of Rs. 1.05 crore, changes in working capital of Rs. 81.61 crore and other operating adjustments of Rs. 73.36 crore. Reported under net cash from investing activities: purchase of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 32.11 crore, purchase of investments of Rs. 17.04 crore, interest received of Rs. 0.62 crore, dividend received of Rs. 1.62 crore and other investing activities of Rs. 0.05 crore. Reported under net cash from financing activities: payment of lease liabilities of Rs. 1.84 crore, dividends paid of Rs. 128.94 crore and other financing activities of Rs. 283.09 crore.
HIDCL cash flow for 2080/81
In the financial year 2080/81, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported opening cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 43.07 crore, net cash from operating activities of Rs. 55.87 crore, net cash from investing activities of Rs. 118.22 crore, net cash from financing activities of Rs. 90.52 crore, net change in cash of Rs. 83.57 crore and closing cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 126.64 crore.
Reported under net cash from operating activities: profit before tax of Rs. 204.82 crore, adjustment for depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 2.68 crore, adjustment for finance costs of Rs. 1.15 crore, changes in working capital of Rs. 166.81 crore and other operating adjustments of Rs. 14.04 crore. Reported under net cash from investing activities: purchase of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 10.99 crore, purchase of investments of Rs. 127.34 crore, interest received of Rs. 0.72 crore, dividend received of Rs. 1.13 crore and other investing activities of Rs. 0.01 crore. Reported under net cash from financing activities: payment of lease liabilities of Rs. 1.91 crore, dividends paid of Rs. 119.93 crore and other financing activities of Rs. 31.32 crore.
HIDCL cash flow for 2079/80
In the financial year 2079/80, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported opening cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 90.91 crore, net cash from operating activities of Rs. 235.46 crore, net cash from investing activities of Rs. 379.29 crore, net cash from financing activities of Rs. 96 crore, net change in cash of Rs. 47.83 crore and closing cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 43.07 crore.
Reported under net cash from operating activities: profit before tax of Rs. 197.76 crore, adjustment for depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 2.53 crore, adjustment for finance costs of Rs. 1.19 crore, changes in working capital of Rs. 56.02 crore and other operating adjustments of Rs. 22.04 crore. Reported under net cash from investing activities: purchase of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 7 crore, purchase of investments of Rs. 374.34 crore, interest received of Rs. 0.72 crore, dividend received of Rs. 1.34 crore and other investing activities of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under net cash from financing activities: payment of lease liabilities of Rs. 1.79 crore, dividends paid of Rs. 5.6 crore and other financing activities of Rs. 103.38 crore.
HIDCL quarterly for Q4 2082/83
In the quarter Q4 2082/83, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 0.77 crore, gross profit of Rs. 0.77 crore, operating profit of Rs. 19.04 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 18.91 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 13.24 crore.
Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 23.82 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 1.64 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 1.25 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 0.35 crore and other operating expenses of Rs. 2.32 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 0.14 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 5.67 crore.
HIDCL quarterly for Q3 2082/83
In the quarter Q3 2082/83, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 0.28 crore, gross profit of Rs. 0.28 crore, operating profit of Rs. 20.84 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 20.7 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 14.47 crore.
Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 22.56 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 0.72 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 0.95 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 0.36 crore and other operating expenses of Rs. 0.03 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 0.14 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 6.23 crore.
HIDCL quarterly for Q2 2082/83
In the quarter Q2 2082/83, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 0.59 crore, gross profit of Rs. 0.59 crore, operating profit of Rs. 29.17 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 29.02 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 20.83 crore.
Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 26.45 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 0.18 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 0.88 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 0.32 crore and other operating expenses of Rs. 3.51 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 0.14 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 8.2 crore.
HIDCL quarterly for Q1 2082/83
In the quarter Q1 2082/83, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 1.04 crore, gross profit of Rs. 1.04 crore, operating profit of Rs. 27.86 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 27.71 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 19.4 crore.
Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 27.94 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 0.46 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 1 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 0.28 crore and other operating expenses of Rs. 0.63 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 0.15 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 8.31 crore.
HIDCL Profit & Loss
Values in Rs. Crore unless stated otherwise.
| Particulars | 2081/82 | 2080/81 | 2079/80 | 2078/79 | 2077/78 |
|---|
| Revenue from Operations | 2.4 | 5.0 | 1.0 | 0.38 | 0.10 |
|---|
| Gross Profit | 2.4 | 5.0 | 1.0 | 0.38 | 0.10 |
|---|
| Operating Profit | 131 | 206 | 199 | 136 | 115 |
|---|
| Other Income | 144 | 212 | 217 | 155 | 130 |
|---|
| Administrative Expenses | -2.7 | -2.2 | -2.2 | -3.8 | -4.0 |
|---|
| Employee Benefit Expenses | -5.1 | -6.8 | -7.3 | -11.5 | -9.6 |
|---|
| Depreciation and Amortisation | -2.6 | -2.4 | -2.3 | -1.2 | -0.96 |
|---|
| Allowance for Expected Credit Loss | -5.4 | -0.07 | -2.8 | -2.3 | -0.48 |
|---|
| Other Operating Expenses | Not reported | Not reported | -4.1 | Not reported | Not reported |
|---|
| Profit Before Tax | 130 | 205 | 198 | 136 | 115 |
|---|
| Finance Costs | -1.1 | -1.1 | -1.2 | -0.28 | Not reported |
|---|
| Net Profit for the Year | 91.1 | 144 | 134 | 92.7 | 80.6 |
|---|
| Current Tax | -39.5 | -62.2 | -63.2 | -43.4 | -37.5 |
|---|
| Deferred Tax | 0.82 | 0.85 | 0.22 | -0.04 | -0.00 |
|---|
| Prior Period Tax Adjustment | Not reported | Not reported | -0.57 | Not reported | Not reported |
|---|
HIDCL Balance Sheet
Values in Rs. Crore unless stated otherwise.
| Particulars | 2081/82 | 2080/81 | 2079/80 | 2078/79 | 2077/78 |
|---|
| Total Non-Current Assets | 1,162 | 1,116 | 1,235 | 857 | 1,887 |
|---|
| Property, Plant and Equipment | 138 | 107 | 97.1 | 91.3 | 72.1 |
|---|
| Intangible Assets | 0.47 | 0.56 | 0.70 | 0.70 | 0.69 |
|---|
| Right-of-Use Assets | 8.3 | 9.7 | 10.6 | 12.6 | Not reported |
|---|
| Deferred Tax Assets | Not reported | Not reported | 0.50 | 0.28 | 0.32 |
|---|
| Investment in Quoted Shares | 322 | 314 | 222 | 175 | 70.7 |
|---|
| Investment in Subsidiaries | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Financial Assets | 693 | 685 | 904 | 576 | 1,743 |
|---|
| Other Non-Current Assets | Not reported | Not reported | 0.01 | 0.26 | 0.23 |
|---|
| Total Current Assets | 1,748 | 1,567 | 1,306 | 1,499 | 123 |
|---|
| Inventories | 0.09 | 0.06 | 0.04 | 0.04 | 0.04 |
|---|
| Cash and Cash Equivalents | 210 | 127 | 43.1 | 90.9 | 24.1 |
|---|
| Income Tax Assets (Net) | 4.8 | 1.3 | 0.00 | 46.4 | 90.0 |
|---|
| Investments in Fixed Deposit | 1,487 | 1,380 | 1,237 | 1,238 | Not reported |
|---|
| Other Current Assets | 46.4 | 59.3 | 26.5 | 123 | 9.2 |
|---|
| Total Equity | 2,853 | 2,640 | 2,508 | 2,233 | 1,826 |
|---|
| Share Capital | 2,514 | 2,313 | 2,278 | 2,072 | 1,650 |
|---|
| Reserve and Surplus | 281 | 203 | 89.2 | 94.2 | 95.0 |
|---|
| Retained Earnings | 54.2 | 124 | 137 | 67.3 | 80.6 |
|---|
| Other Equity | 3.0 | 0.00 | 4.2 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 31.8 | 18.4 | 11.6 | 53.6 | 125 |
|---|
| Long Term Borrowings | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 41.0 | 125 |
|---|
| Lease Liabilities | 9.3 | 10.4 | 10.9 | 12.0 | Not reported |
|---|
| Deferred Tax Liabilities (Net) | 21.8 | 7.2 | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00 |
|---|
| Retirement Benefit Obligation | 0.73 | 0.73 | 0.71 | 0.56 | 0.74 |
|---|
| Total Current Liabilities | 25.8 | 24.4 | 21.7 | 68.9 | 58.9 |
|---|
| Other Current Liabilities | 25.8 | 24.4 | 20.0 | 68.9 | 58.9 |
|---|
| Income Tax Liabilities (Net) | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7 | Not reported | Not reported |
|---|
HIDCL Cash Flow
Values in Rs. Crore unless stated otherwise.
| Particulars | 2081/82 | 2080/81 | 2079/80 | 2078/79 | 2077/78 |
|---|
| Opening Cash & Cash Equivalents | 127 | 43.1 | 90.9 | 24.1 | 71.5 |
|---|
| Net Cash from Operating Activities | -21.5 | 55.9 | 235 | -94.7 | 29.4 |
|---|
| Profit Before Tax | 130 | 205 | 198 | 136 | 115 |
|---|
| Adjustment for Depreciation and Amortisation | 2.6 | 2.7 | 2.5 | 1.3 | 0.96 |
|---|
| Adjustment for Finance Costs | 1.1 | 1.1 | 1.2 | 0.15 | Not reported |
|---|
| Changes in Working Capital | -81.6 | -167 | 56.0 | -187 | -50.4 |
|---|
| Other Operating Adjustments | -73.4 | 14.0 | -22.0 | -45.1 | -36.4 |
|---|
| Net Cash from Investing Activities | -47.0 | 118 | -379 | -153 | -65.1 |
|---|
| Purchase of Property, Plant and Equipment | -32.1 | -11.0 | -7.0 | -20.8 | -51.7 |
|---|
| Purchase of Investments | -17.0 | 127 | -374 | -134 | -15.2 |
|---|
| Interest Received | 0.62 | 0.72 | 0.72 | 0.72 | 0.72 |
|---|
| Dividend Received | 1.6 | 1.1 | 1.3 | 1.4 | 1.1 |
|---|
| Other Investing Activities | -0.05 | 0.01 | -0.00 | -0.01 | -0.05 |
|---|
| Net Cash from Financing Activities | 152 | -90.5 | 96.0 | 314 | -11.8 |
|---|
| Payment of Lease Liabilities | -1.8 | -1.9 | -1.8 | -0.20 | Not reported |
|---|
| Dividends Paid | -129 | -120 | -5.6 | -7.9 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Financing Activities | 283 | 31.3 | 103 | 323 | -11.8 |
|---|
| Net Change in Cash | 83.8 | 83.6 | -47.8 | 66.8 | -47.4 |
|---|
| Closing Cash & Cash Equivalents | 210 | 127 | 43.1 | 90.9 | 24.1 |
|---|
HIDCL Quarterly Results
Values in Rs. Crore unless stated otherwise.
| Particulars | Q4 2082/83 | Q3 2082/83 | Q2 2082/83 | Q1 2082/83 | Q4 2081/82 | Q3 2081/82 | Q2 2081/82 | Q1 2081/82 | Q4 2080/81 | Q3 2080/81 | Q2 2080/81 | Q1 2080/81 |
|---|
| Revenue from Operations | 0.77 | 0.28 | 0.59 | 1.0 | 0.89 | 1.1 | 0.02 | 0.45 | 3.7 | 0.03 | 1.2 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Gross Profit | 0.77 | 0.28 | 0.59 | 1.0 | 0.89 | 1.1 | 0.02 | 0.45 | 3.7 | Not reported | 1.2 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Operating Profit | 19.0 | 20.8 | 29.2 | 27.9 | 31.0 | 29.7 | 34.9 | 39.3 | 52.6 | Not reported | 52.9 | 54.1 |
|---|
| Other Income | 23.8 | 22.6 | 26.4 | 27.9 | 32.9 | 29.9 | 36.6 | 41.2 | 50.5 | 50.1 | 54.2 | 56.8 |
|---|
| Administrative Expenses | -1.6 | -0.72 | -0.18 | -0.46 | -0.73 | -0.65 | -0.45 | -0.33 | 0.36 | -0.77 | -0.56 | -0.64 |
|---|
| Employee Benefit Expenses | -1.2 | -0.95 | -0.88 | -1.00 | -1.00 | -0.39 | -0.97 | -1.7 | -1.7 | -1.1 | -1.4 | -1.7 |
|---|
| Depreciation and Amortisation | -0.35 | -0.36 | -0.32 | -0.28 | -0.27 | -0.29 | -0.29 | -0.30 | -0.28 | -0.28 | -0.28 | -0.28 |
|---|
| Other Operating Expenses | -2.3 | 0.03 | 3.5 | 0.63 | -0.88 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0.29 | -0.29 | Not reported |
|---|
| Profit Before Tax | 18.9 | 20.7 | 29.0 | 27.7 | 30.8 | 29.6 | 34.8 | 39.1 | 51.9 | 48.3 | 52.9 | 54.1 |
|---|
| Finance Costs | -0.14 | -0.14 | -0.14 | -0.15 | -0.15 | -0.16 | -0.15 | -0.17 | -0.73 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
|---|
| Net Profit for the Year | 13.2 | 14.5 | 20.8 | 19.4 | 24.5 | 20.7 | 24.8 | 27.4 | 36.3 | 33.8 | 37.4 | 37.9 |
|---|
| Current Tax | -5.7 | -6.2 | -8.2 | -8.3 | -9.2 | -8.9 | -9.9 | -11.7 | -15.6 | -14.5 | -15.6 | -16.2 |
|---|
| Deferred Tax | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | -0.05 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
|---|
Hydroelectricity Investment and Development share price history
Over the last 15 trading sessions HIDCL closed between Rs. 236.20 and Rs. 262.00, finishing at Rs. 256.30 on 2026-09-23 against Rs. 236.80 on 2026-08-31.
| Date | Open | High | Low | Close | Volume |
|---|
| 2026-09-23 | 265.00 | 265.00 | 256.10 | 256.30 | 1,21,254 |
|---|
| 2026-09-22 | 258.00 | 264.00 | 258.00 | 262.00 | 1,21,068 |
|---|
| 2026-09-18 | 253.20 | 261.60 | 251.10 | 258.90 | 1,28,092 |
|---|
| 2026-09-17 | 267.70 | 267.70 | 252.30 | 253.20 | 62,869 |
|---|
| 2026-09-16 | 260.00 | 261.00 | 247.40 | 254.00 | 1,06,152 |
|---|
| 2026-09-15 | 258.80 | 263.00 | 248.10 | 257.60 | 2,11,629 |
|---|
| 2026-09-14 | 245.00 | 250.00 | 242.50 | 246.50 | 56,429 |
|---|
| 2026-09-11 | 240.00 | 246.90 | 239.10 | 245.00 | 47,609 |
|---|
| 2026-09-10 | 237.50 | 242.00 | 237.50 | 240.00 | 23,479 |
|---|
| 2026-09-09 | 255.10 | 255.10 | 239.20 | 240.00 | 30,539 |
|---|
| 2026-09-07 | 240.50 | 244.60 | 239.00 | 243.00 | 72,026 |
|---|
| 2026-09-03 | 239.60 | 241.00 | 237.40 | 239.00 | 29,189 |
|---|
| 2026-09-02 | 232.60 | 239.40 | 232.60 | 239.40 | 49,951 |
|---|
| 2026-09-01 | 235.10 | 239.90 | 235.00 | 236.20 | 92,472 |
|---|
| 2026-08-31 | 240.00 | 241.00 | 236.70 | 236.80 | 45,104 |
|---|
HIDCL share price by year
2026, between Rs. 232.60 and Rs. 307.00, 2025, between Rs. 222.07 and Rs. 334.98, 2024, between Rs. 155.76 and Rs. 354.68, 2023, between Rs. 151.72 and Rs. 236.45, 2022, between Rs. 149.94 and Rs. 343.42 and 2021, between Rs. 152.47 and Rs. 499.56.
| Year | Low (Rs.) | High (Rs.) | Sessions |
|---|
| 2026 | 232.60 | 307.00 | 169 |
|---|
| 2025 | 222.07 | 334.98 | 225 |
|---|
| 2024 | 155.76 | 354.68 | 232 |
|---|
| 2023 | 151.72 | 236.45 | 227 |
|---|
| 2022 | 149.94 | 343.42 | 242 |
|---|
| 2021 | 152.47 | 499.56 | 239 |
|---|
| 2020 | 93.83 | 177.67 | 183 |
|---|
| 2019 | 99.04 | 122.50 | 245 |
|---|
| 2018 | 96.36 | 114.92 | 234 |
|---|
| 2017 | 109.00 | 144.54 | 230 |
|---|
| 2016 | 128.74 | 241.29 | 105 |
|---|
Hydroelectricity Investment and Development share price returns
At Rs. 256.30 on 2026-09-23, HIDCL is up 0.91% over 1 week, up 3.35% over 1 month, down 0.08% over 3 months, down 13.99% over 6 months, down 7.42% over 1 year and down 22.88% over 5 years. Each return compares that close with the last close on or before the same date in the earlier period.
| Period | Return | From price (Rs.) | From date |
|---|
| 1 week | +0.91% | 254.00 | 2026-09-16 |
|---|
| 1 month | +3.35% | 248.00 | 2026-08-24 |
|---|
| 3 months | -0.08% | 256.50 | 2026-06-25 |
|---|
| 6 months | -13.99% | 298.00 | 2026-03-26 |
|---|
| 1 year | -7.42% | 276.85 | 2025-09-23 |
|---|
| 5 years | -22.88% | 332.32 | 2021-09-23 |
|---|
HIDCL floorsheet for 2026-09-23
HIDCL traded 250 times on 2026-09-23, moving 1,19,213 shares for Rs. 3.07 crore of turnover. Trades went through between Rs. 250.00 and Rs. 265.00.
Largest buyers by volume: broker 74, Kalash Stock Market Pvt. Ltd. on 33,080 shares across 11 trades, broker 32, Premier Securites Company Limited on 29,250 shares across 39 trades, broker 7, J.F. Securities Company Pvt. Limited on 18,500 shares across 42 trades, broker 57, Arya Tara Investment And Securities Pvt. Ltd. on 7,590 shares across 21 trades, broker 56, Sri Hari Securities Pvt.Ltd on 3,500 shares across 13 trades, broker 35, Kohinoor Investment and Securities Pvt.Ltd on 2,650 shares across 6 trades, broker 45, Imperial Securities Co. Limited on 2,510 shares across 5 trades, broker 11, Malla & Malla Stock Broking Company Pvt. Limited on 2,170 shares across 6 trades, broker 17, ABC Securities Pvt. Limited on 2,000 shares across 4 trades and broker 16, Primo Securities Pvt. Limited on 1,555 shares across 3 trades.
Largest sellers by volume: broker 81, Aakashbhairab Securities Ltd. on 31,970 shares across 2 trades, broker 38, Dipshika Dhitopatra Karobar Co. Pvt.Limited on 18,700 shares across 23 trades, broker 58, Naasa Securities Co. Ltd. on 9,885 shares across 38 trades, broker 33, Dakshinkali Investment Securities Pvt.Limited on 6,193 shares across 6 trades, broker 49, Online Securities Limited on 4,689 shares across 15 trades, broker 57, Arya Tara Investment And Securities Pvt. Ltd. on 4,400 shares across 9 trades, broker 14, Nepal Stock House Pvt. Limited on 4,126 shares across 10 trades, broker 34, Vision Securities Pvt.Limited on 3,967 shares across 14 trades, broker 50, Crystal Kanchenjunga Securities Pvt.Ltd on 3,042 shares across 7 trades and broker 59, Deevyaa Securities & Stock House Pvt. Ltd on 3,000 shares across 5 trades.
HIDCL dividend history: bonus shares and cash dividend
Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited most recently declared a 1.5% bonus share issue and a 2% cash dividend, 3.5% in total for 2081/2082, announced on 2025-12-14. Percentages are of paid up value. Declared, not necessarily paid: a dividend is subject to the annual general meeting approving it.
| Financial year | Bonus share | Cash dividend | Announced |
|---|
| 2081/2082 | 1.5% | 2% | 2025-12-14 |
| 2080/2081 | | 5.25% | 2024-12-11 |
| 2079/2080 | | 5.263% | 2024-01-14 |
| 2078/2079 | 5% | | 2022-12-20 |
For 2081/2082 Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited declared a 1.5% bonus share issue and a 2% cash dividend, 3.5% in total, announced on 2025-12-14.
For 2080/2081 Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited declared a 5.25% cash dividend, announced on 2024-12-11.
For 2079/2080 Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited declared a 5.263% cash dividend, announced on 2024-01-14.
For 2078/2079 Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited declared a 5% bonus share issue, announced on 2022-12-20.
HIDCL general meetings
Annual and special general meetings Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited has called. A dividend is declared by the board and approved at the AGM.
- 14th AGM for 2081/2082: on 2026-01-05, at Karki Banquet, Babarmahal, Kathmandu (10:00 AM)
- 13th AGM for 2080/2081: on 2025-01-08, at Karki Banquet, Babarmahal, Kathmandu (10:00 AM)
- 12th AGM for 2079/2080: on 2024-01-14, at Baneshwor Banquet, Naya Baneshwor, Kathmandu (10:00 AM)
5 years of annual statements and 12 quarters of results for HIDCL, with charts and peer comparison, are free on NepView.
New to these statements? How to read a profit and loss statement, How to read a balance sheet, How to read a cash flow statement, How to read quarterly results.
Other Investment companies on NEPSE
All investment companies on NEPSE
More on NepView