Universal Power Company Limited (UPCL) Share Price & Fundamentals
Universal Power (UPCL) share price is Rs. 341.00, down 1.16% on 2026-09-22. Open Rs. 345.00. High Rs. 348.50. Low Rs. 339.00. Volume 54,107.
Universal Power Company Limited is a NEPSE-listed company (UPCL), Hydro Power sector. Revenue: Rs. 29.97 Crore. Net profit: Rs. 2.8 Crore. Net worth: Rs. 256.3 Crore.
About Universal Power Company Limited
Universal Power Company Limited (UPCL) has 2,48,51,236 shares outstanding. Its most recent declared dividend was 0.47% on face value.
UPCL key metrics
UPCL strengths
What Universal Power Company Limited's own accounts show in its favour, graded against the rest of its sector.
- Keeps 81.6% of every sale after paying to make the product, leaving room for running costs and profit. (Margins)
- Debt sits at just 0.55x of shareholders' money, so lenders have little claim on the company. (Leverage & Solvency)
- Covers short term bills 2.47x over even without selling any stock, which is a strong cash position. (Liquidity)
- Can settle its short term bills 2.53x over, so it is unlikely to run short of cash. (Liquidity)
- 63.3% of everything it owns was paid for by shareholders rather than borrowed. (Leverage & Solvency)
- Sells and replaces its stock 9.82x a year, so goods are not sitting on shelves. (Efficiency)
UPCL weaknesses
What the same accounts show against it. Both lists are computed from the filed figures, not opinion, and are not advice.
- Profit moved -79.5% on last year, so earnings are not building up. (Growth)
- Return on shareholders' money is 5.3%, less than most savers would expect. (Profitability)
- Every rupee of assets brings in only 0.07x of sales, so its assets generate little trade. (Efficiency)
- Interest cover is 1.37x, so a bad year could make loans hard to service. (Leverage & Solvency)
- Return on the money tied up in the business is 4.5%, so capital is not working hard. (Profitability)
- Sales moved 6.6% on last year, so the business is not winning new custom. (Growth)
- Cash is only 2.9% of what it owns, so there is little spare for a surprise. (Liquidity)
- Return on everything it owns is 3.4%, so its assets are sitting relatively idle. (Profitability)
- Shareholders' stake moved 5.6% over the year, so value is not accumulating. (Shareholder Returns)
- What the company owns moved 3%, so it is not putting money into growth. (Growth)
- Buildings and machinery tie up 71.5% of everything it owns, which is hard to sell in a downturn. (Efficiency)
UPCL Q4 2082/83 results
In Q4 2082/83 Universal Power Company Limited reported profit of Rs. 0.75 crore and revenue from operations of Rs. 6.11 crore. Profit in Q3 2082/83 was a loss of Rs. 6.32 crore. Profit turned from a loss to a profit on the previous quarter. Revenue from operations fell 5.61% on the previous quarter. Profit in Q4 2081/82, the same quarter a year earlier, was Rs. 3.35 crore. Profit fell 77.73% on the same quarter last year. Revenue from operations fell 20.04% on the same quarter last year.
UPCL annual results 2082/83
For the financial year 2082/83 Universal Power Company Limited reported net profit of Rs. 2.8 crore, revenue from operations of Rs. 29.97 crore and net worth of Rs. 256.3 crore. Net profit in 2081/82 was Rs. 13.66 crore. Net profit fell 79.52% on the year. Revenue from operations grew 6.62% on the year.
UPCL profit and loss for 2082/83
In the financial year 2082/83, Universal Power Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 29.97 crore, gross profit of Rs. 24.46 crore, operating profit of Rs. 10.45 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 2.8 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 2.8 crore.
Reported under gross profit: cost of sales of Rs. 5.51 crore. Reported under operating profit: administrative expenses of Rs. 2.25 crore and depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 11.99 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 7.65 crore.
UPCL profit and loss for 2081/82
In the financial year 2081/82, Universal Power Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 28.11 crore, gross profit of Rs. 22.7 crore, operating profit of Rs. 17.76 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 13.66 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 13.66 crore.
Reported under gross profit: cost of sales of Rs. 5.41 crore. Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 0 crore, selling and distribution expenses of Rs. 0 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 1.9 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 0 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 3.04 crore, allowance for expected credit loss of Rs. 0 crore and other operating expenses of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 9.65 crore, gain on investments through fair value of Rs. 0 crore and other items of Rs. 5.55 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 0 crore, deferred tax of Rs. 0 crore and prior period tax adjustment of Rs. 0 crore.
UPCL profit and loss for 2080/81
In the financial year 2080/81, Universal Power Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 26.81 crore, gross profit of Rs. 21.95 crore, operating profit of Rs. 17.04 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 7.71 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 7.71 crore.
Reported under gross profit: cost of sales of Rs. 4.86 crore. Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 0 crore, selling and distribution expenses of Rs. 0 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 1.92 crore, employee benefit expenses of Rs. 0 crore, depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 2.99 crore, allowance for expected credit loss of Rs. 0 crore and other operating expenses of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 14.85 crore, gain on investments through fair value of Rs. 0 crore and other items of Rs. 5.51 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: current tax of Rs. 0 crore, deferred tax of Rs. 0 crore and prior period tax adjustment of Rs. 0 crore.
UPCL balance sheet for 2081/82
In the financial year 2081/82, Universal Power Company Limited reported total non-current assets of Rs. 379.94 crore, total current assets of Rs. 24.89 crore, total equity of Rs. 256.3 crore, total non-current liabilities of Rs. 138.69 crore and total current liabilities of Rs. 9.85 crore.
Reported under total non-current assets: property, plant and equipment of Rs. 289.39 crore, capital work-in-progress of Rs. 7.74 crore, intangible assets of Rs. 0 crore, right-of-use assets of Rs. 0 crore, deferred tax assets of Rs. 0 crore, investment in quoted shares of Rs. 82.81 crore, investment in subsidiaries of Rs. 0 crore, other financial assets of Rs. 0 crore and other non-current assets of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total current assets: inventories of Rs. 0.55 crore, trade receivables of Rs. 6.15 crore, cash and cash equivalents of Rs. 11.89 crore, bank balance (other than cash and cash equivalents) of Rs. 0 crore, advances of Rs. 6.3 crore, income tax assets (net) of Rs. 0 crore, investments in fixed deposit of Rs. 0 crore, prepayments of Rs. 0 crore, other financial assets of Rs. 0 crore and other current assets of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total equity: share capital of Rs. 227.99 crore, share premium reserve of Rs. 0 crore, reserve and surplus of Rs. 28.3 crore, retained earnings of Rs. 0 crore, other equity of Rs. 0 crore and non-controlling interest of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total non-current liabilities: long term borrowings of Rs. 138.69 crore, lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, deferred tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 0 crore, retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0 crore, other financial liabilities of Rs. 0 crore and provisions of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total current liabilities: short term borrowings of Rs. 2.5 crore, trade payables of Rs. 6.97 crore, lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0 crore, other financial liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, other current liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, provisions of Rs. 0.38 crore and income tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 0 crore.
UPCL balance sheet for 2080/81
In the financial year 2080/81, Universal Power Company Limited reported total non-current assets of Rs. 363.57 crore, total current assets of Rs. 29.34 crore, total equity of Rs. 242.64 crore, total non-current liabilities of Rs. 143.99 crore and total current liabilities of Rs. 6.28 crore.
Reported under total non-current assets: property, plant and equipment of Rs. 291.76 crore, capital work-in-progress of Rs. 7.16 crore, intangible assets of Rs. 0 crore, right-of-use assets of Rs. 0 crore, deferred tax assets of Rs. 0 crore, investment in quoted shares of Rs. 64.65 crore, investment in subsidiaries of Rs. 0 crore, other financial assets of Rs. 0 crore and other non-current assets of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total current assets: inventories of Rs. 0.53 crore, trade receivables of Rs. 4.9 crore, cash and cash equivalents of Rs. 0.84 crore, bank balance (other than cash and cash equivalents) of Rs. 0 crore, advances of Rs. 6.08 crore, income tax assets (net) of Rs. 0 crore, investments in fixed deposit of Rs. 17 crore, prepayments of Rs. 0 crore, other financial assets of Rs. 0 crore and other current assets of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total equity: share capital of Rs. 227.99 crore, share premium reserve of Rs. 0 crore, reserve and surplus of Rs. 14.65 crore, retained earnings of Rs. 0 crore, other equity of Rs. 0 crore and non-controlling interest of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total non-current liabilities: long term borrowings of Rs. 143.99 crore, lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, deferred tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 0 crore, retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0 crore, other financial liabilities of Rs. 0 crore and provisions of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total current liabilities: short term borrowings of Rs. 0.85 crore, trade payables of Rs. 5.21 crore, lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0 crore, other financial liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, other current liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, provisions of Rs. 0.22 crore and income tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 0 crore.
UPCL balance sheet for 2079/80
In the financial year 2079/80, Universal Power Company Limited reported total non-current assets of Rs. 315.16 crore, total current assets of Rs. 77.94 crore, total equity of Rs. 235.93 crore, total non-current liabilities of Rs. 147.73 crore and total current liabilities of Rs. 9.45 crore.
Reported under total non-current assets: property, plant and equipment of Rs. 294.46 crore, capital work-in-progress of Rs. 6.28 crore, intangible assets of Rs. 0 crore, right-of-use assets of Rs. 0 crore, deferred tax assets of Rs. 0 crore, investment in quoted shares of Rs. 14.42 crore, investment in subsidiaries of Rs. 0 crore, other financial assets of Rs. 0 crore and other non-current assets of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total current assets: inventories of Rs. 0 crore, trade receivables of Rs. 6.44 crore, cash and cash equivalents of Rs. 0.89 crore, bank balance (other than cash and cash equivalents) of Rs. 0 crore, advances of Rs. 52.62 crore, income tax assets (net) of Rs. 0 crore, investments in fixed deposit of Rs. 18 crore, prepayments of Rs. 0 crore, other financial assets of Rs. 0 crore and other current assets of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total equity: share capital of Rs. 210.04 crore, share premium reserve of Rs. 0 crore, reserve and surplus of Rs. 25.9 crore, retained earnings of Rs. 0 crore, other equity of Rs. 0 crore and non-controlling interest of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total non-current liabilities: long term borrowings of Rs. 147.73 crore, lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, deferred tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 0 crore, retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0 crore, other financial liabilities of Rs. 0 crore and provisions of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under total current liabilities: short term borrowings of Rs. 2.25 crore, trade payables of Rs. 7.02 crore, lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, retirement benefit obligation of Rs. 0 crore, other financial liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, other current liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, provisions of Rs. 0.18 crore and income tax liabilities (net) of Rs. 0 crore.
UPCL cash flow for 2081/82
In the financial year 2081/82, Universal Power Company Limited reported opening cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 0.84 crore, net cash from operating activities of Rs. 43.78 crore, net cash from investing activities of Rs. 19.41 crore, net cash from financing activities of Rs. 13.31 crore, net change in cash of Rs. 11.06 crore and closing cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 11.89 crore.
Reported under net cash from operating activities: profit before tax of Rs. 13.66 crore, adjustment for depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 3.04 crore, adjustment for finance costs of Rs. 9.65 crore, changes in working capital of Rs. 17.43 crore, income tax paid of Rs. 0 crore and other operating adjustments of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under net cash from investing activities: purchase of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 1.26 crore, proceeds from sale of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 0 crore, purchase of investments of Rs. 18.15 crore, interest received of Rs. 0 crore, dividend received of Rs. 0 crore and other investing activities of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under net cash from financing activities: proceeds from borrowings of Rs. 0 crore, repayment of borrowings of Rs. 3.66 crore, payment of lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, dividends paid of Rs. 0 crore, interest paid of Rs. 9.65 crore and other financing activities of Rs. 0 crore.
UPCL cash flow for 2080/81
In the financial year 2080/81, Universal Power Company Limited reported opening cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 0.89 crore, net cash from operating activities of Rs. 24.32 crore, net cash from investing activities of Rs. 4.38 crore, net cash from financing activities of Rs. 19.98 crore, net change in cash of Rs. 0.05 crore and closing cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 0.84 crore.
Reported under net cash from operating activities: profit before tax of Rs. 7.71 crore, adjustment for depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 2.99 crore, adjustment for finance costs of Rs. 14.85 crore, changes in working capital of Rs. 0.23 crore, income tax paid of Rs. 0 crore and other operating adjustments of Rs. 1 crore. Reported under net cash from investing activities: purchase of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 1.17 crore, proceeds from sale of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 0 crore, purchase of investments of Rs. 3.21 crore, interest received of Rs. 0 crore, dividend received of Rs. 0 crore and other investing activities of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under net cash from financing activities: proceeds from borrowings of Rs. 0 crore, repayment of borrowings of Rs. 5.14 crore, payment of lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, dividends paid of Rs. 0 crore, interest paid of Rs. 14.85 crore and other financing activities of Rs. 0 crore.
UPCL cash flow for 2079/80
In the financial year 2079/80, Universal Power Company Limited reported opening cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 1.06 crore, net cash from operating activities of Rs. 31.28 crore, net cash from investing activities of Rs. 6.12 crore, net cash from financing activities of Rs. 25.34 crore, net change in cash of Rs. 0.17 crore and closing cash & cash equivalents of Rs. 0.89 crore.
Reported under net cash from operating activities: profit before tax of Rs. 6.64 crore, adjustment for depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 3 crore, adjustment for finance costs of Rs. 17.07 crore, changes in working capital of Rs. 4.57 crore, income tax paid of Rs. 0 crore and other operating adjustments of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under net cash from investing activities: purchase of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 6.12 crore, proceeds from sale of property, plant and equipment of Rs. 0 crore, purchase of investments of Rs. 0 crore, interest received of Rs. 0 crore, dividend received of Rs. 0 crore and other investing activities of Rs. 0 crore. Reported under net cash from financing activities: proceeds from borrowings of Rs. 0 crore, repayment of borrowings of Rs. 8.27 crore, payment of lease liabilities of Rs. 0 crore, dividends paid of Rs. 0 crore, interest paid of Rs. 17.07 crore and other financing activities of Rs. 0 crore.
UPCL quarterly for Q4 2082/83
In the quarter Q4 2082/83, Universal Power Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 6.11 crore, gross profit of Rs. 4.44 crore, operating profit of Rs. 0.99 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 0.74 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 0.75 crore.
Reported under gross profit: cost of sales of Rs. 1.67 crore. Reported under operating profit: other income of Rs. 0.23 crore, administrative expenses of Rs. 0.28 crore and depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 3.41 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 0.25 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: deferred tax of Rs. 0.01 crore.
UPCL quarterly for Q3 2082/83
In the quarter Q3 2082/83, Universal Power Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 6.47 crore, gross profit of Rs. 4.5 crore, operating profit of Rs. 3.37 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 6.31 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 6.32 crore.
Reported under gross profit: cost of sales of Rs. 1.97 crore. Reported under operating profit: administrative expenses of Rs. 0.8 crore and depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 7.06 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 2.94 crore. Reported under net profit for the year: deferred tax of Rs. 0.01 crore.
UPCL quarterly for Q2 2082/83
In the quarter Q2 2082/83, Universal Power Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 7.85 crore, gross profit of Rs. 6.74 crore, operating profit of Rs. 5.37 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 3.01 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 3.01 crore.
Reported under gross profit: cost of sales of Rs. 1.11 crore. Reported under operating profit: administrative expenses of Rs. 0.6 crore and depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 0.76 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 2.36 crore.
UPCL quarterly for Q1 2082/83
In the quarter Q1 2082/83, Universal Power Company Limited reported revenue from operations of Rs. 9.54 crore, gross profit of Rs. 8.78 crore, operating profit of Rs. 7.45 crore, profit before tax of Rs. 5.36 crore and net profit for the year of Rs. 5.36 crore.
Reported under gross profit: cost of sales of Rs. 0.76 crore. Reported under operating profit: administrative expenses of Rs. 0.57 crore and depreciation and amortisation of Rs. 0.76 crore. Reported under profit before tax: finance costs of Rs. 2.09 crore.
UPCL Profit & Loss
Values in Rs. Crore unless stated otherwise.
| Particulars | 2082/83 | 2081/82 | 2080/81 | 2079/80 | 2078/79 |
|---|
| Revenue from Operations | 30.0 | 28.1 | 26.8 | 29.1 | 13.7 |
|---|
| Gross Profit | 24.5 | 22.7 | 21.9 | 23.7 | 11.5 |
|---|
| Cost of Sales | -5.5 | -5.4 | -4.9 | -5.4 | -2.2 |
|---|
| Operating Profit | 10.4 | 17.8 | 17.0 | 18.4 | 8.3 |
|---|
| Other Income | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Selling and Distribution Expenses | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Administrative Expenses | -2.3 | -1.9 | -1.9 | -2.3 | -1.6 |
|---|
| Employee Benefit Expenses | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Depreciation and Amortisation | -12.0 | -3.0 | -3.0 | -3.0 | -1.5 |
|---|
| Allowance for Expected Credit Loss | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Operating Expenses | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Profit Before Tax | 2.8 | 13.7 | 7.7 | 6.6 | 5.8 |
|---|
| Finance Costs | -7.6 | -9.7 | -14.8 | -17.1 | -7.7 |
|---|
| Gain on Investments through Fair Value | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Items | Not reported | 5.6 | 5.5 | 5.3 | 5.1 |
|---|
| Net Profit for the Year | 2.8 | 13.7 | 7.7 | 6.6 | 5.8 |
|---|
| Current Tax | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Deferred Tax | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Prior Period Tax Adjustment | Not reported | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
UPCL Balance Sheet
Values in Rs. Crore unless stated otherwise.
| Particulars | 2081/82 | 2080/81 | 2079/80 | 2078/79 |
|---|
| Total Non-Current Assets | 380 | 364 | 315 | 312 |
|---|
| Property, Plant and Equipment | 289 | 292 | 294 | 293 |
|---|
| Capital Work-in-Progress | 7.7 | 7.2 | 6.3 | 5.1 |
|---|
| Intangible Assets | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Right-of-Use Assets | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Deferred Tax Assets | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Investment in Quoted Shares | 82.8 | 64.7 | 14.4 | 14.4 |
|---|
| Investment in Subsidiaries | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Financial Assets | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Non-Current Assets | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Total Current Assets | 24.9 | 29.3 | 77.9 | 80.0 |
|---|
| Inventories | 0.55 | 0.53 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Trade Receivables | 6.1 | 4.9 | 6.4 | 6.1 |
|---|
| Cash and Cash Equivalents | 11.9 | 0.84 | 0.89 | 1.1 |
|---|
| Bank Balance (other than Cash and Cash Equivalents) | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Advances | 6.3 | 6.1 | 52.6 | 55.9 |
|---|
| Income Tax Assets (Net) | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Investments in Fixed Deposit | 0.00 | 17.0 | 18.0 | 17.0 |
|---|
| Prepayments | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Financial Assets | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Current Assets | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Total Equity | 256 | 243 | 236 | 229 |
|---|
| Share Capital | 228 | 228 | 210 | 210 |
|---|
| Share Premium Reserve | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Reserve and Surplus | 28.3 | 14.6 | 25.9 | 19.3 |
|---|
| Retained Earnings | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Equity | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Non-Controlling Interest | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 139 | 144 | 148 | 148 |
|---|
| Long Term Borrowings | 139 | 144 | 148 | 148 |
|---|
| Lease Liabilities | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Deferred Tax Liabilities (Net) | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Retirement Benefit Obligation | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Financial Liabilities | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Provisions | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Total Current Liabilities | 9.8 | 6.3 | 9.4 | 14.6 |
|---|
| Short Term Borrowings | 2.5 | 0.85 | 2.3 | 10.1 |
|---|
| Trade Payables | 7.0 | 5.2 | 7.0 | 4.4 |
|---|
| Lease Liabilities | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Retirement Benefit Obligation | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Financial Liabilities | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Current Liabilities | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Provisions | 0.38 | 0.22 | 0.18 | 0.14 |
|---|
| Income Tax Liabilities (Net) | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
UPCL Cash Flow
Values in Rs. Crore unless stated otherwise.
| Particulars | 2081/82 | 2080/81 | 2079/80 | 2078/79 |
|---|
| Opening Cash & Cash Equivalents | 0.84 | 0.89 | 1.1 | 1.0 |
|---|
| Net Cash from Operating Activities | 43.8 | 24.3 | 31.3 | 24.3 |
|---|
| Profit Before Tax | 13.7 | 7.7 | 6.6 | 5.8 |
|---|
| Adjustment for Depreciation and Amortisation | 3.0 | 3.0 | 3.0 | 1.5 |
|---|
| Adjustment for Finance Costs | 9.7 | 14.8 | 17.1 | 7.7 |
|---|
| Changes in Working Capital | 17.4 | -0.23 | 4.6 | 9.3 |
|---|
| Income Tax Paid | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Operating Adjustments | 0.00 | -1.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Net Cash from Investing Activities | -19.4 | -4.4 | -6.1 | -28.8 |
|---|
| Purchase of Property, Plant and Equipment | -1.3 | -1.2 | -6.1 | -28.8 |
|---|
| Proceeds from Sale of Property, Plant and Equipment | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Purchase of Investments | -18.2 | -3.2 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Interest Received | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Dividend Received | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Other Investing Activities | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Net Cash from Financing Activities | -13.3 | -20.0 | -25.3 | 4.5 |
|---|
| Proceeds from Borrowings | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 19.6 |
|---|
| Repayment of Borrowings | -3.7 | -5.1 | -8.3 | -7.4 |
|---|
| Payment of Lease Liabilities | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Dividends Paid | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Interest Paid | -9.7 | -14.8 | -17.1 | -7.7 |
|---|
| Other Financing Activities | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
|---|
| Net Change in Cash | 11.1 | -0.05 | -0.17 | 0.02 |
|---|
| Closing Cash & Cash Equivalents | 11.9 | 0.84 | 0.89 | 1.1 |
|---|
UPCL Quarterly Results
Values in Rs. Crore unless stated otherwise.
| Particulars | Q4 2082/83 | Q3 2082/83 | Q2 2082/83 | Q1 2082/83 | Q4 2081/82 | Q3 2081/82 | Q2 2081/82 | Q1 2081/82 |
|---|
| Revenue from Operations | 6.1 | 6.5 | 7.8 | 9.5 | 7.6 | 5.3 | 8.4 | 12.5 |
|---|
| Gross Profit | 4.4 | 4.5 | 6.7 | 8.8 | 5.9 | 3.6 | 7.5 | 11.5 |
|---|
| Cost of Sales | -1.7 | -2.0 | -1.1 | -0.76 | -1.8 | -1.6 | -0.86 | -1.0 |
|---|
| Operating Profit | 0.99 | -3.4 | 5.4 | 7.5 | 4.6 | 2.5 | 6.3 | 10.1 |
|---|
| Other Income | 0.23 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
|---|
| Administrative Expenses | -0.28 | -0.80 | -0.60 | -0.57 | -0.55 | -0.41 | -0.49 | -0.57 |
|---|
| Depreciation and Amortisation | -3.4 | -7.1 | -0.76 | -0.76 | -0.75 | -0.75 | -0.73 | -0.77 |
|---|
| Profit Before Tax | 0.74 | -6.3 | 3.0 | 5.4 | 3.4 | -0.73 | 3.9 | 7.5 |
|---|
| Finance Costs | -0.25 | -2.9 | -2.4 | -2.1 | -1.2 | -3.2 | -2.4 | -2.6 |
|---|
| Net Profit for the Year | 0.75 | -6.3 | 3.0 | 5.4 | 3.4 | -0.73 | 3.9 | 7.5 |
|---|
| Deferred Tax | 0.01 | -0.01 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
|---|
Universal Power share price history
Over the last 15 trading sessions UPCL closed between Rs. 324.00 and Rs. 350.00, finishing at Rs. 341.00 on 2026-09-22 against Rs. 331.00 on 2026-08-26.
| Date | Open | High | Low | Close | Volume |
|---|
| 2026-09-22 | 345.00 | 348.50 | 339.00 | 341.00 | 54,107 |
|---|
| 2026-09-18 | 346.00 | 349.00 | 343.00 | 345.00 | 49,030 |
|---|
| 2026-09-17 | 345.00 | 349.00 | 342.00 | 343.00 | 31,592 |
|---|
| 2026-09-16 | 340.00 | 350.00 | 340.00 | 344.00 | 37,201 |
|---|
| 2026-09-15 | 350.00 | 360.00 | 342.10 | 350.00 | 84,421 |
|---|
| 2026-09-14 | 333.00 | 341.80 | 333.00 | 338.00 | 41,249 |
|---|
| 2026-09-11 | 335.00 | 339.00 | 329.00 | 332.80 | 41,448 |
|---|
| 2026-09-10 | 335.00 | 355.00 | 331.10 | 331.10 | 25,476 |
|---|
| 2026-09-09 | 340.00 | 365.00 | 335.00 | 344.50 | 63,743 |
|---|
| 2026-09-07 | 344.00 | 347.00 | 336.00 | 345.00 | 87,414 |
|---|
| 2026-09-03 | 339.00 | 344.00 | 333.00 | 344.00 | 39,119 |
|---|
| 2026-09-02 | 323.00 | 338.90 | 323.00 | 338.90 | 52,734 |
|---|
| 2026-09-01 | 324.20 | 330.00 | 321.00 | 330.00 | 25,654 |
|---|
| 2026-08-31 | 325.20 | 326.00 | 318.40 | 324.00 | 68,824 |
|---|
| 2026-08-26 | 330.10 | 339.00 | 330.00 | 331.00 | 43,302 |
|---|
UPCL share price by year
2026, between Rs. 318.40 and Rs. 430.40, 2025, between Rs. 238.53 and Rs. 448.62, 2024, between Rs. 167.89 and Rs. 316.51, 2023, between Rs. 141.99 and Rs. 245.10, 2022, between Rs. 148.67 and Rs. 371.03 and 2021, between Rs. 103.11 and Rs. 536.68.
| Year | Low (Rs.) | High (Rs.) | Sessions |
|---|
| 2026 | 318.40 | 430.40 | 168 |
|---|
| 2025 | 238.53 | 448.62 | 225 |
|---|
| 2024 | 167.89 | 316.51 | 232 |
|---|
| 2023 | 141.99 | 245.10 | 227 |
|---|
| 2022 | 148.67 | 371.03 | 242 |
|---|
| 2021 | 103.11 | 536.68 | 237 |
|---|
| 2020 | 55.78 | 136.92 | 181 |
|---|
| 2019 | 59.16 | 253.55 | 180 |
|---|
Universal Power share price returns
At Rs. 341.00 on 2026-09-22, UPCL is down 2.57% over 1 week, down 0.03% over 1 month, down 3.15% over 3 months, down 18.23% over 6 months, down 8.06% over 1 year and down 12.29% over 5 years. Each return compares that close with the last close on or before the same date in the earlier period.
| Period | Return | From price (Rs.) | From date |
|---|
| 1 week | -2.57% | 350.00 | 2026-09-15 |
|---|
| 1 month | -0.03% | 341.10 | 2026-08-21 |
|---|
| 3 months | -3.15% | 352.10 | 2026-06-24 |
|---|
| 6 months | -18.23% | 417.00 | 2026-03-26 |
|---|
| 1 year | -8.06% | 370.88 | 2025-09-21 |
|---|
| 5 years | -12.29% | 388.78 | 2021-09-23 |
|---|
UPCL floorsheet for 2026-09-22
UPCL traded 147 times on 2026-09-22, moving 45,099 shares for Rs. 1.54 crore of turnover. Trades went through between Rs. 339.00 and Rs. 348.50.
Largest buyers by volume: broker 58, Naasa Securities Co. Ltd. on 6,319 shares across 18 trades, broker 45, Imperial Securities Co. Limited on 5,074 shares across 5 trades, broker 47, Neev Securities Pvt.Ltd on 5,010 shares across 11 trades, broker 16, Primo Securities Pvt. Limited on 2,825 shares across 5 trades, broker 68, Elite Stock House Limited on 2,770 shares across 12 trades, broker 49, Online Securities Limited on 2,285 shares across 4 trades, broker 5, Market Securities Exchange Company Pvt. Limited on 1,700 shares across 2 trades, broker 57, Arya Tara Investment And Securities Pvt. Ltd. on 1,510 shares across 6 trades, broker 59, Deevyaa Securities & Stock House Pvt. Ltd on 1,500 shares across 4 trades and broker 52, Sundhara Securities Limited on 1,300 shares across 2 trades.
Largest sellers by volume: broker 34, Vision Securities Pvt.Limited on 24,029 shares across 63 trades, broker 56, Sri Hari Securities Pvt.Ltd on 4,872 shares across 15 trades, broker 86, Stoxkarts Securities Limited on 4,500 shares across 17 trades, broker 84, Milky Way Share Broker Company Ltd on 2,400 shares across 3 trades, broker 58, Naasa Securities Co. Ltd. on 2,179 shares across 7 trades, broker 54, Sewa Securities Pvt. Ltd. on 1,474 shares across 6 trades, broker 3, Arun Securities Pvt. Limited on 1,000 shares across 1 trades, broker 16, Primo Securities Pvt. Limited on 725 shares across 2 trades, broker 38, Dipshika Dhitopatra Karobar Co. Pvt.Limited on 510 shares across 7 trades and broker 33, Dakshinkali Investment Securities Pvt.Limited on 500 shares across 1 trades.
UPCL dividend history: bonus shares and cash dividend
Universal Power Company Limited most recently declared a 9% bonus share issue for 2081/2082, announced on 2025-09-14. Percentages are of paid up value. Declared, not necessarily paid: a dividend is subject to the annual general meeting approving it.
| Financial year | Bonus share | Cash dividend | Announced |
|---|
| 2081/2082 | 9% | | 2025-09-14 |
| 2079/2080 | 8.55% | | 2023-12-26 |
| 2078/2079 | 8.55% | | 2023-12-24 |
For 2081/2082 Universal Power Company Limited declared a 9% bonus share issue, announced on 2025-09-14.
For 2079/2080 Universal Power Company Limited declared an 8.55% bonus share issue, announced on 2023-12-26.
For 2078/2079 Universal Power Company Limited declared an 8.55% bonus share issue, announced on 2023-12-24.
UPCL right share issues
Right issues Universal Power Company Limited has announced. A right share is offered to existing shareholders in proportion to what they already hold.
- : ratio 1:1
- 2081/2082: ratio 100%
UPCL general meetings
Annual and special general meetings Universal Power Company Limited has called. A dividend is declared by the board and approved at the AGM.
- AGM for 2081/2082: on 2026-01-14, at Durbar Restro Hotel and Party Venue, Tikhedewal, Lalitpur (11:30 AM)
- 13th AGM for 2081/2082: on 2025-10-09
- 12th AGM for 2078/2079: on 2024-01-14, at Company's Office, Tripureshwor, Kathmandu (12:15 PM)
5 years of annual statements and 8 quarters of results for UPCL, with charts and peer comparison, are free on NepView.
New to these statements? How to read a profit and loss statement, How to read a balance sheet, How to read a cash flow statement, How to read quarterly results.
Other Hydro Power companies on NEPSE
All hydro power companies on NEPSE
More on NepView